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PAUL GUILLIE:  Obviously a very exciting game and a
very complex play.  It's not something we see very
common, but the rule is specific if you haven't had a
chance to hear what went on over here.  If you do have a
rule book, if you go to Rule 8 and baserunning, section
3.p., it says that on an attempted squeeze play or a steal of
home plate, the catcher steps on or in front of home plate
without possession of the ball or touches the batter or the
bat (indiscernible), and the catcher with interference, hence
the reason for the balk call scores the runner from third; the
interference on the catcher moves the batter to first base.

So all of that is 100 percent by the rule book.  The ball
becomes dead.  The batter shall be awarded first base on
the interference.  The run scores, and the other runners,
which is a runner on first, advances to second base.

By rule, a lot of questions.  Is the play reviewable?  The
play is not reviewable under the current play chart that we
have.  It's not one of our 14 plays.

Is the play protestable?  Which you saw the school that
was involved wanted to protest the situation.  The call of
balk and interference is a judgment call.  That is not a
protestable play.

The award of home plate and the interpretation of the rule
on putting the batter on first would be a protestable play. 
So we decided to make sure that we did not continue the
game under protest to solve the rules-related issue in the
interpretation of the rule.

Again, I'll reiterate, the play is a judgment play, and that is
not a protestable type situation.

Q.  Paul, is it a catcher box issue here or actual contact
with the hitter?

PAUL GUILLIE:  It's not a catcher's box situation.  It's the
catcher being on or in front of home plate and not having
possession of the ball.  That's the issue.  It's not a catcher's
box situation because our rule does allow the catcher to
have one foot out of the box, and he can leave the box --
let's say we had a potential steal where we have a
pitch-out.  He can leave the box at the time of the release.

This particular play has specific guidelines in it of what they
can and cannot do.

Q.  Does it change things if the pitcher steps off before
he throws to the plate?

PAUL GUILLIE:  Yes, then it's not a pitch, it's a play, and
then he would be allowed -- we don't have a pitch in that
situation, so once he steps off, the pitch is not a hittable
pitch so it doesn't become interference on the batter, and
the catcher is not under the same restrictions because he
can't balk because he stepped off.

Q.  Was there a microphone that the umpires had
access to and was there a way that we could have
talked to the fans or explained what happened in real
time?

PAUL GUILLIE:  That question did come up, but because
we had a judgment play and the crew getting together to
get the call right, then we had a rule interpretation, then we
had a question about a review process, then we also had
somebody -- then we had the play appealed on whether or
not the runner touched home plate.

We had so many things going on, the decision was made
that we felt like we would have probably confused people
more than trying to come over a microphone in this type of
environment and explain it, and we elected to take the time
to do it here.
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