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Quick Quotes

Q. Great back nine. What went well for you there?

SAHITH THEEGALA: Yeah, I've been hitting my short
irons and wedges really nice this week. It's been a big
emphasis of mine the latter part of the year. I've really
struggled weirdly in that distance. Putting a lot of work the
last month or so, and | feel like I've hit a lot of those 120 to
170 shots really close, which has been awesome.

I've just had a bunch of opportunities, and my driver hasn't
been super straight, but the putter has been great from that
length, and I've made a lot of putts from that distance,
which was big. Just some momentum putts that kind of
kept the birdies going. Yeabh, it just felt like a lot of my
game is really feeling good right now.

Q. No. 3, what's the final verdict?

SAHITH THEEGALA: It was a two-shot penalty.
Unfortunately they couldn't come up with the clearest
evidence. It was a zoomed out kind of -- the camera angle
they had was pretty far behind the ball and it was kind of
zoomed out. It was really tough to see.

So my version of it was | was in the bunker, took my
backswing, and to give context, | through it in the bunker
right on the lip; ball rolled up the lip and came back right on
top of where it pitched. So it was a very unusual lie. It was
teed up in the sand. It was a really nice lie.

So it was an unusual lie, and | usually pick up the club and
take it back, but because of the lie, right on my backswing |
felt like | moved a few grains of sand for sure. In my
peripheral, | thought | saw some of the sand move as | took
my backswing.

Immediately after | hit it -- | hit it, great contact, great shot,
talked to Xander about it. | was like, hey, dude, | think |
moved some sand while | hit that shot, and we thought that
it was no big deal because there was no intent, didn't feel
like -- it didn't actually change the lie at all.

But unfortunately the rule is it doesn't matter the intent. If
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you change the lie in the direct area around the ball that
could affect your swing, it is a two-shot penalty.

At the end of the day, I've played so much golf. You kind
of just trust your intuition and gut, and right away | thought |
moved some sand there. I'm in the 90s percent that |
thought | moved some sand. I'd sleep a lot better if | saw
some clear image of me moving the sand.

| really think | did move the sand. It's just an unfortunate
rule. But what are you going to do, take the two shots on
the chin and just roll with it.

But yeah, it was just unfortunate. But | did -- pretty sure |
breached the rules, so I'm paying the price for it, and | feel
good about it. Like | said, I'm not 100 percent sure. But I'd
say I'm 98, 99 percent sure that some sand was moved.

I've just played so much golf. You spend so much time of
your life staring down at the lie you have, the ball you have,
and it just did not feel like a normal fairway bunker shot. It
felt like some of the sand moved. At the end of the day I'm
good with the ruling, and | think it's very fair that | was
assessed two shots.

Q. It happened on your backswing taking the shot?
SAHITH THEEGALA: Correct.
Q. Feels like all this happens in a millisecond as you...

SAHITH THEEGALA: Correct, and it was so insignificant.
If you think about it, if you hit something on your backswing
and you feel anything, you're going to stop and reset.
Imagine being into -- having a downgrain lie and you just
clip a piece of grass, like that's stopping your club a little
bit. The amount of sand that was behind this ball, like if |
hot significant amount of, like | would have stopped and |
would have thought it wasn't a penalty and | wouldn't have
gotten penalized. Just the same except my ball is still
there.

So it was a very little amount of sand. | can say that with
full honesty and clarity. It was not a very large amount of
sand. | don't think it improved the lie at all. | shouldn't say
that. Some of the sand moved; maybe it did improve it.
But it was on the backswing.
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Yeah, if you notice my iron shots when | hit a cut, | kind of
pick up the club and kind of like sweep it back low, and that
was what | did there. | was trying to hit a cut and ended up
sweeping it too low.

It's to hard to tell because of the shadows and my club.
You couldn't see any sand come up. That's how little sand
we're talking about. 1 think it literally just brushed down the
hill about that much. But yeah, | wish | could see it on
video. I'm still going to sleep great. Whatever, two shots, |
feel good about it. | think it was a penalty. | think | moved
sand. Just a weird situation.

Q. Would you sleep badly if you hadn't called it on
yourself?

SAHITH THEEGALA: Oh, | wouldn't be able to sleep. |
was describing the situation -- no matter what the outcome
was, | needed to know what the actual rule was. Even
though me and Xander thought it's just whatever, it's fine,
you touched a grain of sand, didn't mean to move it, you're
good.

| decided to call the rules official right away on that green.
But either way, | would have asked the rules officials after
the round, too, or somehow found out what the rule was,
and if | didn't ask a rules official and | went back home and
looked up the rule -- it was sitting in my mind.

Again, intuition, it felt like | moved the sand. It was sitting
in my mind. If I went back after the round, looked that up
and found out that it was a two-shot penalty, | would be
DQ'd right now. So | am glad | brought it up right away. |
know the rules of golf a little bit better now. There is a lot
of silly stuff you can do in the bunker. You can chuck a
club in the bunker, you can literally stand -- you can use
your golf club as a stand in the bunker. As long as it's not
right next to your ball.

There's a lot of things you can do. But unfortunately if it's
in the area affecting the lie and the swing of your shot,
regardless of intent, it's a two-shot penalty.

Q. How easy or difficult was it for you mentally to
move on on the fourth hole?

SAHITH THEEGALA: It was tough. | got very upset. |
don't know if the cameras saw that, but | chucked my water
bottle. Just in the moment. | wear my emotions on my
sleeve. Tough to not get upset about that. | made a huge
par on 4. Thought that saved my round.

It was a pretty wild -- yeah, I'm just really happy | made that
putt because if | didn't make that putt | would have been
really hot walking to hole 5. Yeah, just gave a little bit
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more fuel to the fire, | guess. Just tried to use that
positively. My caddie, Carl, kept telling me that I've been
playing awesome. Just keep doing your thing. Two shots
is a lot, but at the end of the day you've got a lot more golf
to play. Tried to use it as a positive.

FastScripts by ASAP Sports.

.. when all is said, we’re done.®

sports

Page 2 of 2



