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Q.  So what happened?

GARY YOUNG:  So I imagine the question is why did we
have a situation with Thomas Pieters earlier during his
match where he was denied relief from a sprinkler head
that was just outside the penalty area, and then later in a
match with Bryson DeChambeau, he was granted relief
from that same situation.

Obviously match play, each match is its own individual
story; let's call it that.

To me, two wrongs don't make a right.  To make the
correction before Bryson's match got there was important.

When we heard about the original ruling, the way the
penalty area is marked, the line -- and as you look at them
out on the golf course, the line kind of goes around each
sprinkler head, keeping it in the general area of the golf
course, not in the penalty area.  That play a player is
always going to get relief.

When the golf course was marked, the line got a little bit
closer.  Obviously there's a lot of wind when you're making
these golf courses.  The line got a little too close to it.  The
official who ruled on it was going based on what he was
looking at, okay.

Obviously the intention was to keep them all outside.  But
when he was looking at it, he ruled on it based on the fact
that that red line was technically touching both the ball and
the sprinkler head.

At that time I don't want to say he ruled incorrectly because
I think he ruled based on what he was looking at.  It then
got brought to our attention.  We talked about it as a
committee and felt very firmly, two wrongs don't make a
right.  We've got to correct this because clearly it should be
outside.

As they were down, on their way down there with some
paint to correct the line, Bryson's situation came up.  He
called me on the phone and asked -- he said, I've got the
same situation.  Now that I know the intention was to have
it outside the penalty area, are you comfortable with me
ruling on it that way, and I said, yes, I want you to rule on it
that way because we're about to change the marking on it.

There was nothing we could do to fix the Thomas Pieters
situation.  It was over with.  But just to get it right was
important.

Q.  How long before Bryson's shot went there was the
decision made, we're changing this?

GARY YOUNG:  It had already been made prior to his ball
getting there.  We had discussed it.  We were in the
process of getting the paint to the location, and the call
came from the official:  I've got the exact same situation
again; how do you want me to handle this.  And I said,
you've got to rule on it now; now that you know our
intention was to keep the ball in the general area, please
rule on it that way.

Again, it's the great part of the fact that this is match play
and we can make those changes because each individual
match you can change something like that.  If it was a
stroke-play event we would have had to keep it that way
through the entire day until all competitors finished their
round and then make the change.  But because of match
play, we did it in between.

Q.  Do you know if Thomas was advised of the
change?

GARY YOUNG:  I tried to catch up with him.  He had
already left the property.  I've actually tent him a text
message that I want to speak to him and explain it, so I'm
going to do that.

Q.  Can we call this a painting error?

GARY YOUNG:  I don't want to say that because obviously
an error would have been to purposely paint and hit that
thing and have it in there.  It was just, again, windy
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conditions when you're marking the golf course.  Anyone
that's ever done it, it's blowing around on you out there in
the wind, and I think the wind just caused it to get a little
close, and quite honestly we should have picked up on that
as a committee.
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